Terminator, Twitter, Transitions

Although I’m not thrilled with the casting and at times the camera work and dialog border on irritating, I am quite impressed with how Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles is weaving the plot and themes from the movie into the present time. Tonite they touched on a topic of major interest to me relating to the meshverse:

We’re all participating in the emerging meshverse, the question is what roles we are willing to play? Will we be food in a spider’s web or will we be co-creators of a more humane planet?

Participating in the Big Simulation

There was even a mention of the concept of the Singularity which long time readers have seen here before more than a few times. While watching, it occurred to me that Twittering comments would probably be a good way to capture thoughts that might turn into a longer post here(or not). I resisted the urge to jump up and get the laptop – it wasn’t that hard 🙂 opting instead to see/feel how it might pan out. As mentioned in my first post of the year, I’ve been re-evaluating this blog and in that context had set up a Twitter account but hadn’t posted anything to it. After thinking about it a bit, I’ve decided to go ahead and and Twitter into the mix here. I have quite a few entries unpublished here because I either

  • wasn’t sure of how valuable/interesting they were
  • didn’t have time to add any context/value to them
  • wasn’t sure how they fit into other themes/topics here and related blogs I write

I’ve decided now that Twitter is probably an effective way to share these things so you may want to start following the MJ Twitter flow.

I should note that my man Csven has been dealing with the same kind of issues:

However, gluing all those pieces together into something coherent and worth the time it’d take to read doesn’t make sense either, especially when the technological landscape – among other things – is so dynamic. I can only imagine how many posts here have been avoided because they attempted to cover too much ground and overwhelmed people. They’re too long. Not just for readers to digest, but for me to produce.

reBang

and his approach help nudge me to shift gears. I think an increasing number of people will feel more and more these subtle and sometimes not so subtle transitions as we hurtle towards the Singularity. It’s likely we’ll see many more and at a faster pace too. If you missed it, Connecting the Dots might help in navigating the transition.

1 Comment »

  1. csven said

    Haven’t watched the third episode yet (gave up television and dependent on Fox on Demand), but like you, the “time travel” portion is of particular interest to me. The whole concept of a virtual time travel opens up some fun narrative possibilities. I’m half-waiting for TSCC videogame.

    And yeah, regarding blogs, when so much is converging it’s difficult not to see most everything as being relevant. I’m already planning on reigning in the reBang twitter to be more aligned with the blog. The Tumblr accounts *might* be where I go off into left field exploration. Don’t honestly know yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

